Development of Indian Railway Stations 

Station development on Indian Railways is a continuous exercise. Works pertaining to modernization/upgradation of station are undertaken depending upon identified need, availability of funds, etc. Accordingly, New Delhi station has been developed in various phases.

With a view to make dedicated efforts towards station development, Indian Railway Stations Development Corporation Ltd. (IRSDC) was set up in 2012 and has been entrusted with redevelopment of seven stations viz., Anand Vihar, Bijwasan, Chandigarh, Habibganj (Bhopal), Shivaji Nagar (Pune), Surat, SAS Nagar (Mohali). In addition, one station viz., Gandhinagar has been entrusted to Rail Land Development Authority (RLDA) for redevelopment.

Further, to expand the scope of station redevelopment in a big way, it has been decided to offer ‘A-1’ and ‘A’ category stations (about 400 stations) which are generally located in metros, major cities, pilgrimage centres & important tourist destinations, for redevelopment on ‘as is where is’ basis by inviting open bids from interested parties with their designs and business ideas.

Station Redevelopment projects are complex in nature which require detailed techno-economic feasibility studies and statutory clearances from local bodies. Though Railways have been making sustained efforts towards expediting various issues, it is, however, not possible to provide time limit at this stage for completion of these projects.

This information was given by the Minister of State for Railways Shri Manoj Sinha in a written reply to a question in Lok Sabha on 11-12-15.




Leave a Reply